Looking for a book set in San Antonio? This gritty suspense book will grip your attention (and make you want to visit). #sanantonio #amreading #netgalley #bookreview #suspense #inspy

Looking for a book set in San Antonio? This gritty suspense book will grip your attention (and make you want to visit).

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

Looking for a book set in San Antonio? This gritty suspense book will grip your attention (and make you want to visit). #sanantonio #amreading #netgalley #bookreview #suspense #inspy

Do You Love San Antonio?

I’ve had the pleasure of attending two different conferences in San Antonio, and I love the city. When fiction from one of my favorite inspirational suspense authors comes out AND it’s set in San Antonio, I move it to the head of my TBR list. Do you love reading books set in places you’ve visited?

Trust Me

By Kelly Irvin, Thomas Nelson, February 2022, 382 pages.

Ten years ago, Delaney Broward discovered her brother’s bloody body in his art studio. With his death, she had no one left. Because police charged her boyfriend, Hunter Nash with the crime. Now she’s rebuilt her life, set the past behind her, and runs a profitable framing business in San Antonio’s River Walk art district. When she goes next door to check on her best friend, Delaney discovers another horrific crime—and the killer.

His chilling words, ‘Stay out of it or you’re next,’ haunt her as she recovers from her injuries and grieves her friend’s violent death. Could the two murders be related? What should she stay out of?

Hunter Nash has served eight years for a crime he didn’t commit. An overeager detective and poor legal counsel put him away for an unthinkable crime—murdering his best friend. The day he gets out of prison, the detective, older and wiser now, shows up asking for his alibi. There’s been another murder—this time Delaney’s best friend and her brother’s former girlfriend.

Convinced the two crimes share a connection, Hunter sets out to prove his innocence and win back Delaney’s love. Both tasks seem impossible. Prison changed Hunter, though, and his newfound faith helps him as he struggles to become the new creation God wants him to be.

Why I Loved This Book

Irvin excels at spine-tingling, edge-of-your-seat suspense, and you won’t want to miss Trust Me (trust me!). The local flavor adds depth to the story, and readers will relate to characters who choose to make changes in their lives through God’s power.

As will all of her suspense, Irvin does a masterful job of keeping the killer’s identity a secret—no easy guesses in this who-done-it! Fans of Colleen Coble and Cara Putman will love this book. Irvin also has other great titles set in San Antonio.

Looking for a book set in San Antonio? This gritty suspense book will grip your attention (and make you want to visit). #sanantonio #amreading #netgalley #bookreview #suspense #inspy

2 Comments

  1. Hi Anita,

    I’ve never been to San Antonio. Trust Me sounds like a good read. The description felt like a Lifetime Movie. I’m always looking for a good book and haven’t read this genre in a while. Thanks for the recommendation. I like a book that keeps me at the edge of my seat turning pages to find out what’s next, who did it, and what’s really going on.
    Yvonne Chase recently posted…Bombing You With Love Is How They Trap YouMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: