Looking for an inspirational suspense book you can't put down? Try one of these, I couldn't stop reading (hello, late nights!) #amreading #suspense #inspy #romanticsuspense #thriller #selfcare #books

Looking for an inspirational suspense book you can’t put down? Try one of these, I couldn’t stop reading (hello, late nights!).

Can’t Put Down Inspirational Suspense

The problem with writing book reviews for inspirational suspense titles is I don’t want to give anything away. But trust me, any one of these titles will keep you up late at night chain reading and trying to figure out what happens next. I haven’t posted any Book Talk Tuesday reviews for a while, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading and writing reviews for NetGalley and Goodreads.

Free Fall (Quantico Files Book 3)

By Nancy Mehl, Bethany House Publishing, June 2022, 346 pages.

Alex Donavan and her colleague Logan Hart have scarcely recovered from their last case when their boss at the FBI Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU) gives them a missing woman case. Normally, they don’t profile UNSUBs for a single missing person, but the boss thinks Alex and Logan deserve a break.

No one realizes until Alex and Logan start their investigation that multiple women have gone missing—and they all fit the same description. Each victim has long brown hair, a slender build, and blue eyes. The perfect description of Alex. Logan worries for her safety as his feelings for her intensify. But health issues keep him from working the case the way he wants to—leaving him feeling vulnerable.

When the UNSUB sees Alex on a local network, he demands Alex meet him, or the missing women will die.

Why I Loved This Book

Third in the Quantico Files series, Free Fall takes readers on a wild ride inside the mind of a killer. Mehl’s strong faith shines through in this installment as newly converted Alex learns to claim the promises of the Bible to overcome her fears. Logan’s mature faith gets tested as well, as he faces the unknown.

Fans of Lisa Harris, Colleen Coble, and Carrie Stuart Parks will enjoy this novel.

The Deadly Shallows

By Danni Pettrey, Bethany House Publishers, July 2022, 392 pages.

Noah Rowley, Coast Guard Investigative Service team leader, struggles with his feelings for Coast Guard flight medic Brooke Kesler. He thinks she wants their relationship to move from friendship to something more permanent, but he’s sure she’ll walk away if he shares the secret from his past. It’s happened before.

When someone attacks the Coast Guard base graduation ceremony, Noah and his team rush to neutralize the threat. Only one shooter survives, and when he whispers something to Brooke as they load onto the helicopter, he puts a target on Brooke’s back.

Brooke, Noah, and his team race to unravel the mystery of who attacked and why, but the casualty count keeps mounting. Will they uncover the truth before another Coast Guard member goes down?

Why I Loved This Book

Pettrey continues her Coastal Guardians series with action-packed suspense and enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing from page to page. The sweet love story provides relief from the action scenes, as Noah and Brooke’s relationship deepens as they struggle to find the killers and stay alive.

Although part of a series, readers can enjoy The Deadly Shallows as a standalone novel.

Critical Alliance

By Elizabeth Goddard, Revell, July 2022, 352 pages.

Some people can overcome the mistakes of their youth, but Mackenzie Hanson can’t seem to escape the condemnation from her family and even the government. Despite the cloud hanging over her, Mackenzie manages to forge a life for herself as a professor of cybersecurity.

But when someone from her past slips her a cryptic message, Mackenzie rushes home to Montana to save her family’s business—and maybe even their lives. Who can she trust, and how imminent is the threat? More importantly, will anyone let her use her unique set of skills to take down the hacker who continues to threaten her?

Alex Knight failed in his last assignment as a Diplomatic Security Services special agent. His supervisor orders him to take a break, and Alex heads home to Montana. What looks like a low-key, relaxing vacation turns into a race to figure out the identity of the mysterious Nebulous 2.0—cybercriminal and possible murderer. Will his skills in protective services save the life of the beautiful Mackenzie Hanson and her sister?

Why I Loved This Book

Goddard’s third book in the Rocky Mountain Courage series highlights the mysterious Alex Knight. Readers can enjoy the book as a standalone novel (but why not read Deadly Target and Present Danger—they’re awesome books, too!). Fans of romantic suspense will love this inspirational novel as they journey to overcome past mistakes and build a future based on a relationship with God.

Edge of Dusk

By Colleen Coble, Thomas Nelson, July 2022, 352 pages.

Annie Pederson has spent her life in Rock Harbor, a small town on Michigan’s Upper Peninsula. When her parents and husband die in a tragic boating accident, Annie continues to run the resort and marina she inherited from her father while caring for her eight-year-old daughter Kylie and working as a law enforcement ranger.

Her busy life keeps her past from haunting her—most of the time. But when a body shows up in the freezing waters of Lake Superior, Annie can’t help but remember her past. Determined to solve the crime, she soon discovers someone wants her silenced. When her ex-fiancé, Jon Dustan, shows up, she longs to trust him—but some people in town seem to think he left town because he committed a crime.

What I Loved About This Book

Coble has mastered the art of romantic suspense, and Edge of Dusk https://amzn.to/3w1idDm showcases her talents. Readers can relate to the flawed heroine as she struggles with the choices she made in her past and the ramifications for her future. Those who love second-chance romances will love Jon and Annie’s story.

Looking for an inspirational suspense book you can't put down? Try one of these, I couldn't stop reading (hello, late nights!) #amreading #suspense #inspy #romanticsuspense #thriller #selfcare #books

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: