The Secrets of Paper and Ink

by Lindsay Harrell. Thomas Nelson Publishers. 336 pages.

Sophie Barrett loves working as a licensed counselor at a women’s counseling center. Until the unexpected death of her fiancé sends her into a tailspin. On a whim, she rents a flat above a bookstore in Cornwall. country where Robert Appleton, one of her favorite 19th-century English authors, lived and wrote. When she arrives, she discovers more than she expected—an intriguing literary mystery.

Ginny Rose struggles to keep the Rosebud bookshop open—she never wanted to run a bookstore, but keeping it alive financially seems like the only avenue to bringing her husband back. Garrett has gone to London to ‘find himself,’ and Ginny vows to do whatever it takes to keep his dream (and their marriage) alive. Both seem doomed until she puts an ad on line for a flat for rent and her summer guest shows up.

Learn the power of words to heal in this new inspirational book from @lindsayharrel #amreading #inspirational #cornwall Click To Tweet

Both women seek healing, but are they ready to seek healing from the One who pursues their hearts? Along the way, Sophie learns the power of words to heal—both for the one who writes them and the one who reads them.

Harrel weaves a beautiful tale of love, recovery, waiting, and words into this modern tale with flashbacks to an earlier century. If you’ve come to love Cornwall from watching British Masterpiece Theater shows like Poldark and Doc Martin, you’ll love this book. Fans of Kristy Cambron will enjoy Harrel’s book.

You can find other book reviews for inspirational fiction here and here.

Fans of Poldark and Doc Martin will love this book about words, Cornwall, relationships, and healing. #amreading #bookreview #Inspirational #fiction #Cornwall

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.