If you’re looking for the perfect love story to snuggle up with on a cool autumn evening, look no further! One book will chill you with its suspenseful plot and the other will warm you with its beautiful prose and hope.

If you're looking for the perfect love story to snuggle up with on a cool autumn evening, look no further! One book will chill you with its suspenseful plot and the other will warm you with its beautiful prose and hope. #amreading #bookreviews #romance #Christmas #suspense

Strands of Truth

Colleen Coble, Thomas Nelson Publishers, September 10, 2019, 337 pages

Have you ever wondered what you might discover if you did one of those DNA tests? Harper Taylor longs to belong, to have family, love, and stability. All of her known relatives have died, and she wants to solve her paternity mystery. Her mother died minutes after giving birth to Harper, and Harper lived with her grandmother until her grandmother passed away.

As a ward of the state, Harper bounced from foster home to foster home and never felt the love of a family. When she turns 30, she decides to do something about her lack of family ties. She takes a DNA test, and she schedules an embryo adoption.

Her business partner and mentor, Oliver Jackson, begrudgingly supports the embryo adoption, and Harper hopes he’ll act as a surrogate grandfather to her child. But those hopes shatter when he disappears while scuba diving on the same afternoon that someone tries to abduct Harper.

Oliver’s disappearance throws Harper into the company of Oliver’s son, Ridge, who has mistrusted Harper from the moment he met her. As danger tightens its noose around Harper, Ridge starts to revise his opinion of her. Together they must untangle the mystery surrounding Harper’s parentage and Oliver’s attacker—before somebody else dies.

Who Will Enjoy this Book

Christian Inspirational suspense fans will love this tight new release from Colleen Coble. The author weaves together engaging characters with unique occupations (ever heard of a malacologist?) in suspenseful situations where knowledge of byssus (had to look that word up) could crack a decades-old murder mystery.

Fans of Lynette Eason, Dani Pettrey, and Cara Putnam will love this book (as well as anyone who loves the ocean).

If you love suspense and marine biology, you'll love this new suspense novel from @colleencoble. You'll love this book even if you know nothing about #malacology and #byssus! #amreading #suspense Click To Tweet

The Perfect Love Song

Patti Callahan Henry. Thomas Nelson Publishers. October 2019, 240 pages.

Jimmy and Jack Sullivan, brothers and co-founders of the country group Unknown Souls, return to Seaboro, South Carolina in a fateful trip that will change both of their lives—but especially Jimmy’s. Jack returns because his true love, Kara Larson, found him after almost marrying someone else. Jimmy returns because he’s falling in love with Kara’s best friend, Charlotte Carrington.

If you're looking for the perfect love story to snuggle up with on a cool autumn evening, look no further! One book will chill you with its suspenseful plot and the other will warm you with its beautiful prose and hope. #amreading #bookreviews #romance #Christmas #suspense

Coming to Seaboro dredges up memories Jimmy would rather forget—memories of the house they’d left on Christmas day and the father they’d left behind with no regrets. But something about Charlotte and the light shining from her eyes starts to heal the memories.

That evening, without even trying, Charlotte and Jimmy write a song together—a song about friendship, love, and coming home to the one you love. A song about how music can save us—a perfect love song.

When Jimmy gets a chance to perform the song as an opening act for two big-name country stars in a special holiday tour, he jumps at it. He’ll make enough money to keep the band going and maybe find enough fame to help it rise above playing in bars and to tiny crowds.

Loneliness and feeling alienated from everyone he loves come as an unexpected consequence of Jimmy’s solo gig. He buys a Claddagh ring and plans to propose to Charlotte. The strain of fame and touring take their toll, though, and Jimmy’s feelings of isolation increase. Will he make the right decision before he loses everything he holds dear?

A sweet Christmas story about true love, making good choices, and learning to live with hope for grace-filled gifts.

Why You’ll Love this Book

Patti Callahan Henry’s words dance across the page and fill the reader’s imagination with warmth and thoughts of home, holidays, and hard spaces. If you enjoy this book, you’ll also love Becoming Mrs. Lewis, Henry’s novelization of Joy Davidman Lewis’s story.

Don't miss #ThePerfectLoveSong by @pcalhenry! A delightful read to prepare you for the holiday season. #Christmas #HomefortheHolidays @ThomasNelson @NetGalley Click To Tweet

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.