Ok, not literally glued to your book, but consider yourself warned. Once you pick up one of these titles, you'll have a hard time putting it down! #amreading #bookreviews #suspense #civilwar #secretsociety #mentalhealth #statedepartment #capitolintrigue #relationships #suspense #inspy

Ok, not literally glued to your book, but consider yourself warned. Once you pick up one of these titles, you’ll have a hard time putting it down!

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

Ok, not literally glued to your book, but consider yourself warned. Once you pick up one of these titles, you'll have a hard time putting it down! #amreading #bookreviews #suspense #civilwar #secretsociety #mentalhealth #statedepartment #capitolintrigue #relationships #suspense #inspy

Some might call me a book addict. I have no idea what they’re talking about. Doesn’t everyone chain-read books in every spare minute? I cycle through new releases and classics with the occasional non-fiction title thrown in. I’d rather read a good book than watch a movie or television show. Tell me I’m not the only one out there. These two new suspense titles will make you feel glued to your book (or Kindle app, if you prefer reading electronically).

Ever Felt Glued to Your Book?

Fortunately for me, I’m enjoying vacation right now and have time alone so no one can accuse me of turning into a recluse when I couldn’t stop reading!

On the Cliffs of Foxglove Manor

By Jamie Jo Wright, Bethany House Publishers, June 2021, 368 pages.

When her father sends Adria Fontaine to Foxglove Manor to retrieve his stolen treasure, Adria has no idea what terrors the manor holds. Twenty years after the Civil War, the remote estate on the cliffs of Lake Superior harbors secrets, a mangy fox, a haughty woman, an enigmatic groundskeeper, a childish maid, a mysterious man in the turret room, and gold. Gold that will free her from the oppressive obligation to her father and sister.

Adria would do just about anything to find release from her family’s overbearing, cruel presence. Even the unthinkable. The ghost of Dr. Miranda’s daughter Lucy seems to haunt the women who live at Foxglove Manor. Mysterious sounds, sudden illnesses, and attempted murder keep Adria wondering how she will fulfill her father’s directive. The consequence of failure? Institutionalization.

At the tender age of five, someone kidnapped Kailey Gibson for seven hours. But no one believed her. Twenty years later she returns to Foxglove Manor with her brother Jude—who suffers from autism. By accepting a job as a health aide in the isolated retirement home, Kailey hopes to resurrect memories of her family’s ill-fated vacation. And decipher the mystery of Jude’s incessant scribbling of a random string of letters and numbers. The same numbers and letters her kidnapper demanded she reveal all those years ago.

When another little girl gets kidnapped in the nearby town, Kailey’s memories start returning. But how can she piece together the mystery that haunts Foxglove Manor? And how can she reconcile what she knows about the nature of God with the presence of Lucy’s ghost?

Why I Loved This Book

Jamie Jo Wright spins an eerie tale spanning two centuries. The mystery will keep you glued to your seat as you try to unravel the mysterious occurrences and their role in solving the mysteries. When one’s life feels endangered, who does one trust?

I love every book the author writes, and this one joins the rest of my well-loved collection. She skillfully weaves circumstances, mysteries, and suspense into a chilling tale that holds the reader captive to the very end. I would share this book with anyone, even though it’s listed as inspirational. Characters live out their faith (and question it) without ever sounding churchy, sappy, or fake.

You won't want to miss this edge-of-your-seat new release from @jamiejowright! ##FoxgloveManor #netgalley #amreading Click To Tweet

Power Play (Capitol Intrigue Book Three)

By Rachel Dylan, Bethany House Publishers, June 2021, 299 pages.

Vivian Steele loves her work as a State Department attorney, but she has no stomach for the danger her friends, Bailey and Layla, who work as field agents for the FBI and CIA. But when she attends a political event and two ambassadors collapse and die, she gets dragged into an investigation that puts a target on her back.

Even worse, she gets paired with the annoying security agent and former Navy SEAL, Jacob Cruz. Although handsome, he has trust issues. But as the net of danger closes around her, Vivian has to decide if she can trust Jacob with her life.

Jacob Cruz feels responsible when two people die at a diplomatic dinner where he headed up the security detail. He gets assigned to a multi-agency task force to unravel the mysteries and find the whereabouts of two escaped prisoners.

Thrown into the attractive Vivian Steele’s company, he quickly realizes he cares for her more than he lets on. But he has no desire to deal with his past—and without healing, he could never enter a lasting relationship. But Viv’s persistence, both in finding the truth in the case their working and in helping him face his past, just might overcome his barriers.

Why I Loved This Book

Dylan packs her books with energy, intrigue, plot twists, and action. Readers who love Carrie Stuart Parks or Susan Sleeman will enjoy this book. It’s the third book in the Capitol Intrigue series, but readers can enjoy it as a standalone book. Unlike in the other books in the series, the subplots, while intriguing, didn’t seem connected much to the main character.

The characters struggle with questions of faith, but the book never seems heavy-handed or preachy. I’d share it with a non-believer.

Another spine-tingling suspense book from @dylan_rachel and @BethanyHouse #PowerPlay #netgalley #amreading Click To Tweet
Ok, not literally glued to your book, but consider yourself warned. Once you pick up one of these titles, you'll have a hard time putting it down! #amreading #bookreviews #suspense #civilwar #secretsociety #mentalhealth #statedepartment #capitolintrigue #relationships #suspense #inspy

1 Comment

  1. In one college class, I believe my essay grades were contingent on the title – great title – great grade. Boring title, low grade. Thanks for the book reviews. I’m always on the hunt for a good book! They both sound intriguing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

Follow Me!
%d bloggers like this: