If you love Jane Austen, you'll love these new inspirational Regency romance releases! #sweetromance #regencyromance #inspy #amreading #bookreview #netgalley #newrelease #favoriteauthors

If you love Jane Austen, you’ll love these new inspirational Regency romance releases!

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

If you love Jane Austen, you'll love these new inspirational Regency romance releases! #sweetromance #regencyromance #inspy #amreading #bookreview #netgalley #newrelease #favoriteauthors

What Makes a Book a Sweet, Inspirational Regency Romance?

Good question! Jane Austen set the stage over 200 hundred years ago for the genre we know as Regency romance. Books set in England during the Regency period–when Prince George reigned as Regent for his ill father, King George III, make up the backbone of the Regency novel. Books in this subgenre pay strict adherence to social mores of the time, conventions in society, and the importance of breeding and manners.

Georgette Heyer perfected the genre in the mid-1900s with her meticulous research and witty writing. Since then other authors have written wildly popular books set during the Regency period. But not all of them fall into the clean, G-rated works of Austen and Heyer. A sweet, inspirational Regency romance differs from other Regency novels because it maintains a clean, G-rated atmosphere.

Inspirational Regency romances adhere to many of the familiar tropes and themes of popular Regency romances, but readers won’t have to worry about hiding the book from their grandmothers or children. While not all inspirational novels have a faith element, the protagonists let their faith guide their actions.

Enchanting the Heiress

By Kristi Ann Hunter, Bethany House, March 2022, 368 pages.

Miss Harriett Hancock loves living in Newmarket. Most of the year, the quiet village provides plenty of scope for her charitable works. When racing season starts, she plays the part of an eccentric heiress. Her small circle of close friends comes from different walks of life—gentry, nobility, and working-class people.

Some, such as Jonas Fitzroy, might call her meddlesome. Harriett prefers to see herself as helpful. She loves to provide opportunities for others to achieve their dreams or help others. But for years, she’s lived a lie.

Jonas, highly protective of his twin, Sophia, vows to pay closer attention to the meddlesome Miss Hancock and put her in her place. After all, Miss Hancock has no right to put ideas in Sophia’s head. Especially ideas about turning him into one of her charity projects. Jonas doesn’t need changing, thank you very much.

So when Miss Hancock proposes she become his patron so he can pursue his art, Jonas grudgingly agrees. But he’ll set the terms. Spending time with Miss Hancock will him ample time to judge for himself how harmful the friendship between Sophia and Miss Hancock might be.

He doesn’t expect to find himself drawn to Miss Hancock. Nor does he expect to discover a love of writing.

But will Harriet’s lie, and past actions prevent their relationship from ever moving beyond the surface?

What I Loved About This Book

Third in the Hearts on the Heath series, Enchanting the Heiress has an unexpected romance. Jonas Fitzroy, although a gentleman’s son, feels comfortable with his identity as a hard-working stable hand. Anything is better than working in the circus—his previous occupation with his sister Sophia. Even more intriguing, Harriet is six years older than Jonas. His position as protector and provider for Sophia after their parents’ deaths makes him seem more mature than Harriet most of the time, though.

Although an inspirational Regency romance, readers will identify with themes of familial expectations and the necessity of knowing ourselves before we embark on a relationship with the opposite sex. Fans of Melanie Dickerson and Julie Klassen will enjoy Enchanting the Heiress.

A sweet, inspirational Regency romance from @KrisiAnnHunter and @Bethany_House #amreading #Regency #Inspy Click To Tweet

The Letter from Briarton Park

By Sarah E. Ladd, Thomas Nelson, March 2022, 335 pages.

When her friend and mentor, Mrs. Denton, passes away unexpectedly, her last words to Cassandra Hale reveal she has kept a secret for almost 20 years. And for the past two years, the woman Cassandra trusted withheld an important letter from Cassandra. A letter from a stranger living in Briarton Park in Yorkshire.

The letter and enclosed money send Cassandra on a journey to find the family she’s always wished she knew. For as long as she can remember, Cassandra lived at Mrs. Denton’s school for young ladies. She received a good education, and at 24 has teaching skills and confidence. But her quest to find her family proves more confusing than she ever expected.

Who can she trust in a village filled with both hostility and kindness? Does she trust the new owner of Briarton Park or the local vicar? As danger and uncertainty lurk, Cassandra must remember all her mentor taught her to navigate her situation with grace.

James Warrington, mill owner, widower, father, and new master of Briarton Park, feels drawn to the young woman who arrives on his doorstep looking for answers. With each interaction, he admires her more. He feels his hope of loving again start to bloom.

When Cassandra helps his family through a difficult situation, James feels even more indebted. So when Cassandra comes looking for a job of governess to his two young daughters, James hires her—despite what he knows about her background.

As danger creeps closer, James will do all he can to protect his family—and the beautiful governess.

Why I Loved This Book

If you’re a fan of Regency romance, you’ll love this sweet story. Ladd has included just enough intrigue and suspense to keep the reader turning pages trying to unveil the villain. The historical details will delight Regency lovers.

Fans of Abigail Wilson and Kristi Ann Hunter will love this book.

@SarahLaddAuthor has a new #Regency romance releasing! If you love Regency romances, you'll love this sweet story. Click To Tweet
If you love Jane Austen, you'll love these new inspirational Regency romance releases! #sweetromance #regencyromance #inspy #amreading #bookreview #netgalley #newrelease #favoriteauthors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like