I love it when some facet of nature takes on symbolic meaning in a novel. Water plays a role in both of today's Book Talk Tuesday reviews. #amreading #bookreview #inspy #netgalley #bethanyhouse #booktalktuesday #inspirationalromance #strongcharacters

I love it when some facet of nature takes on symbolic meaning in a novel. Water plays a role in both of today’s Book Talk Tuesday reviews.

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

I love it when some facet of nature takes on symbolic meaning in a novel. Water plays a role in both of today's Book Talk Tuesday reviews. #amreading #bookreview #inspy #netgalley #bethanyhouse #booktalktuesday #inspirationalromance #strongcharacters

Water Plays a Role in These Stories

Although set in different centuries and different parts of the United States, water plays a similar role in both of these new releases. Water, although seemingly innocuous, has the potential to change so many aspects of our lives. In one story, it brings tragedy. Water plays a role in the second story, but more as a symbol for turbulent times and how trials shape us as well as bring us together. Whether you like historical inspirational fiction or general inspirational fiction, you’ll find a new book to love today.

Drawn by the Current (Book 3 of the Windy City Saga)

By Jocelyn Green, Bethany House, February 2022, 368 pages.

It’s 1915 in Chicago, the Windy City, and Olive Pierce lives in an apartment over her aunt’s bookstore and walks two blocks to work at the MetLife Insurance Agency. Although she’s worked there for eight years, her new boss doesn’t think women can do the same jobs as men, nor with the same efficiency.

After surviving the most tragic boat accident in the history of the United States, Olive convinces her boss to let her investigate the hundreds of death benefit claims. As she searches for survivors and comforts the grieving, Olive holds on to a secret that may jeopardize her friend’s life and may even cost Olive the job she loves.

As she unravels the tangled web of a body no one claims and a missing woman, Olive enlists the help of the handsome newspaper photographer Erik Magnussen. Their friendship sparks feelings Olive thought would pass her by.

Both Olive and Erik search for answers, but neither one understands what’s at risk until it’s almost too late.

Why I Loved This Book

Green takes a little-known naval disaster, a social issue, a sweet romance, and intrigue and whips them together into a hearty entrée. Readers will come away with a deeper understanding of friendship, consequences, honesty, and history—and enjoy every moment of the journey.

Fans of Roseanna M. White and Julie Klassen will love this book.

A beautiful new installment in the Windy City Saga from @JocelynGreen77 you won't be able to put down! #amreading #booktalktuesday #BethanyHouse Click To Tweet

Shaped by the Waves

By Christina Suzann Nelson, Bethany House, February 2022, 352 pages.

Cassie George lives in the tide of regret. Regret over relationship choices she made in college. But not the consequence of those choices—her four-year-old daughter Lark. Regret over the shame that’s kept her from Gull’s Bay, the tiny Oregon town that practically raised her. But she holds no regret over her unusual upbringing. Regret because she’s drifted away from her Aunt Shasta, the woman who raised her. But always pulled to the sacrificial love her aunt poured over her.

When her aunt’s health declines, Cassie walks away from her doctoral program in California to return to the one place she’s loved above all others. As she settles in, a mysterious package appears in the mail. A package filled with an anonymous manuscript with the power to rock her world.

A handsome new employee at her aunt’s coffee shop makes Cassie question the boundaries she set in place after conceiving Lark. But until she figures out the mystery of her identity, she won’t know how the past will shape her future.

Why I Loved this Book

As a narrator, Cassie represents the uncertainty a young woman struggles with as she learns to make adult decisions. She straddles a world between young motherhood, academia, and the antics of the aging community of Gull’s Bay.

At times, her life feels as chaotic as an ocean storm, but the quirky characters of Gull’s Bay always provide a safe harbor, especially as Cassie enters a season of caregiving. This poignant, funny, and endearing novel will echo in your heart long after you close the cover of the book.

Fans of Emma St. Clair and Elizabeth Baylor Younts will love this book.

I loved this new book from @ChristinaSuzann! You won't want to miss it! #amreading #caregiver #NetGalley Click To Tweet
I love it when some facet of nature takes on symbolic meaning in a novel. Water plays a role in both of today's Book Talk Tuesday reviews. #amreading #bookreview #inspy #netgalley #bethanyhouse #booktalktuesday #inspirationalromance #strongcharacters

1 Comment

  1. “I love it when some facet of nature takes on symbolic meaning in a novel.” Me too! Especially trees. Thank you for these reviews. I am going to keep them in my mind for picks for my book club!
    Lynn recently posted…An Intentional YearMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: