Which do you prefer? An edge-of-your-seat suspense story, or a slower-paced cozy law tale with dashes of suspense? #inspy #likejankaron #thriller #bookreview #usmarshall #amreading #newreleases #booktalktuesdays

Which do you prefer? An edge-of-your-seat suspense story, or a slower-paced cozy law tale with dashes of suspense?

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

Which do you prefer? An edge-of-your-seat suspense story, or a slower-paced cozy law tale with dashes of suspense? #inspy #likejankaron #thriller #bookreview #usmarshall #amreading #newreleases #booktalktuesdays

Which Do YOU Prefer?

Does what you read depend on your mood? Do you prefer action books one week, and long, slow reads the next? Or do you prefer to read the same kind of genre over and over? Other people’s reading habits always intrigue me, because mine change from season to season. I enjoy inspy romances, thrillers, and suspense books as well as books by Zane Grey and Louis L’Amour. Sometimes (every year or two), I re-read all of Jane Austen’s books, and I love historical romances as well. I take breaks from spine-chilling books to laugh out loud with one of my new favorite genres, Rom-Com.

I’d love to hear how you make your book choices.

The Catch

By Lisa Harris, Revel, April 2022, 344 pages.

U.S. Marshals Madison James and Jonas Quinn save a judge’s life during an attempted kidnapping in the courthouse, only to discover the judge’s wife slain in her own home. Although the evidence points to the judge’s mistress as a likely suspect, Madison and Jonas aren’t sure police have identified the right person. Especially when the suspect’s baby and babysitter go missing.

When evidence points to a kidnapping, Madison and Jonas get tasked with bringing them back alive. But the mysterious babysitter has a past their investigation unwittingly revealed, and now killers stalk the woman and baby Madison and Jonas must find and protect.

As they work together, Madison realizes her feelings for Jonas have turned from admiration to something more lasting. But until she figures out who killed her husband and continues to threaten her family, Madison doesn’t want to act on her feelings. She doubts she could handle the death of someone else she loves—especially if her job acted as a catalyst for the death.

Why I Loved This Book

Readers can enjoy book three in the U.S. Marshall’s series, The Catch, as a standalone novel or as the exciting conclusion to a series. Harris weaves in the right amount of details to allow readers to enjoy the book either way.

Edge-of-your-seat suspense paired with second chance romance will keep readers turning pages from the minute they sit down to read. Fans of Colleen Coble and Elizabeth Goddard will enjoy this book.

Don't miss #TheCatch, by @heartofafrica. You won't be able to put it down! Click To Tweet

Relative Justice

By Robert Whitlow, Thomas Nelson, April 2022, 464 pages.

Katelyn Martin-Cobb loves her fast-paced, demanding job as a litigator with a high-priced Washington, D.C. law firm. Except it doesn’t leave her much time with Robbie, her outdoors-loving husband. Just when she thinks her dreams of fast-tracking to a partner position will come true, a series of events makes her question everything she thought she wanted.

It’s taken Robbie Cobb longer than most people to settle down and figure out his passion and calling in life. As he feels pulled back to the faith of his youth, he wonders where God will lead. When his father has a life-threatening brain hemorrhage, Robbie rushes home to North Carolina.

David Cobb and his father Carter have a family law practice where they can focus on helping small business owners. David sees his job as a calling, and his unorthodox dependence on prayer rather than logic leaves some people shaking their heads. He and his wife Nan and two children enjoy living close to Carter and the slower-paced life of a small-town law office.

Zeke Caldwell, a local pharmacy assistant and self-taught naturalist takes out a patent for one of his home remedies. When he realizes a major drug company has infringed on his patent, he goes to David for guidance.

None of them realize danger lurks closer than they ever imagined. What happens when David prepares to take on Goliath?

What I Liked About This Book

Whitlow creates a story that is half Jan Karon and half Cara Putman. The author spends a fair amount of time character-building. Readers will enjoy the spiritual transformations in both Katelyn and Robbie. They may also get impatient if they anticipate a suspense element (on a scale of 1 to 10, the suspense hovers around a three).

If you love mild suspense and enjoy stories where characters mature and change in unexpected ways as God works in their lives, this affirming story will bring you hope.

Which do you prefer? An edge-of-your-seat suspense story, or a slower-paced cozy law tale with dashes of suspense? #inspy #likejankaron #thriller #bookreview #usmarshall #amreading #newreleases #booktalktuesdays

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: