Looking for gifts for fiction lovers? Two of the best inspiring fiction books come out this December. Don't miss them! #timeshift #inspy #bestbooksof22 #inspirationalfiction #amreading #lovestory #mustread

Looking for gifts for fiction lovers? Two of the best inspiring fiction books come out this December. Don’t miss them!

I receive free electronic advanced reader copies of these books through an arrangement between the publishers and NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion on NetGalley’s website. I only review books on my blog that I really love.

Looking for gifts for fiction lovers? Two of the best inspiring fiction books come out this December. Don't miss them! #timeshift #inspy #bestbooksof22 #inspirationalfiction #amreading #lovestory #mustread

Looking for Inspiring Fiction Books?

I read a lot (between listening to books on Audible and reading actual books, over 150 a year). Every once in a while, I’ll read books that hit a sore spot I didn’t know I had. This week’s Book Talk Tuesday includes two inspiring fiction books which exposed hurts I’ve held and need to find healing from. Hurts about past mistakes, frayed relationships, and my need for a Savior.

The best fiction doesn’t just entertain; it helps readers think. Truly inspiring fiction books will start the healing process, too. If you’re looking for a gift for a book lover (you can gift yourself one or both of these books, I won’t tell), consider these two books!

All the Lost Places

By Amanda Dykes, Bethany House, December 13, 2022, 400 pages.

1807—Sebastien Trovato grows up knowing he is loved. Each of the guild members present on that fateful night when someone set Sebastien afloat in a Venice canal loves him without question. But as he grows, Sebastien struggles with his surname—Trovato, or Found—and wonders why he has no mother and father.

The guild members teach him their trades and lavish him with the love, attention, and education necessary to help Sebastien reach manhood. But Sebastien’s differences set him apart from the other children in his beloved Venice. He finds contentment in service to those who raised him until he rescues a beautiful woman who lands on the island where he lives much of his time.

How can a man with no history and no future claim the woman he comes to love?  

1904—Daniel Goodman has almost repaid his debts to society when a chance encounter leads to the opportunity of a lifetime. If he succeeds, he’ll have the funds to pay off the last of his debts. Researching and translating the mysterious Book of Waters in Venice could lead to reconciliation with his mother.

Uncovering the book’s history, veiled in intrigue and mystery, seems like an impossible task. When Daniel meets Vittoria, keeper of a bookshop and traveling library, he finds hope for his quest. As Daniel translates the Book of Waters, he shares his findings with Vittoria. Together they search the canals and crevices of the city to uncover the ending of the unfinished story.

Why I Loved This Book

At first, Sebastien and Daniel’s stories seem worlds apart. But as readers travel from California to Venice, they start to wonder if a century-old secret in Italy can affect the life of a reformed thief. It takes a masterful writer to weave together the heart of a city, memorable characters, and the greatest love story of all time.

Amanda Dykes wields prose like a poet in this luminous love story filled with intrigue, danger, redemption, and being found. The story brought me to tears, but not in a sappy ‘The-Notebook-made-me-cry’ sort of way. I cried honest tears of recognition (the author is writing MY story), contrition (oh, I’m so guilty of acting THAT way), and absolution (only the greatest love story can absolve my sins).

If you’ve never read a book by Amanda Dykes, you should go buy one (or check one out) now. I loved Yours is the Night. Fans of Kristy Cambron and Amy Lynn Green will enjoy this book.

Don't miss this luminous novel from @AJDykes and @Bethany_House #AlltheLostPlace #amreading #netgalley Click To Tweet

Pretty Little Pieces

By Carmen Schober, Bethany House, December 6, 2022, 336 pages.

Georgina Havoc stands on the cusp of success—a home renovation show with her boyfriend Lance Broussard, a good therapist who helps her overcome the stresses of growing up with uninvolved, distant parents and an unexpected pregnancy.

In one evening, she loses two of the most important things—she miscarries. When she tells Lance, she loses him, too. He wants to put their relationship on pause. But because of their very public lives, Non-Disclosure Agreements, lawyers, publicists, and agents make the breakup of a relationship a minefield.

Her best friend, Poppy, and her agent develop a recovery plan. They pitch a new show to the network where Georgina and Lance worked together. In the new pilot, Georgina will go solo to rehab a cottage and rebuild her life after a devastating breakup.

Former military sniper Cassidy Stokes hasn’t had a drink in three years. After losing the love of his life, he spiraled out of control. But thanks to good friends, Cassidy has found his way back to God, and his life has settled into predictable routines. Now, if he can figure out how to tell his ailing mother he’s agreed to go to El Salvador and find a replacement for his job managing the farm at Harp House, he can tackle his next mission with a clear head.

After a beautiful woman almost kills him with her Lexus, he’s surprised to find her parked in front of Kit’s cottage. He doesn’t feel prepared for the sparks that fly between the two of them. After all, people don’t get a second chance at love, do they?

What I Loved About This Book

Schober pairs two unlikely people in this inspirational novel. How could a girly television star with a trunk load of emotional baggage who hates guns fall in love with a hunky widower who wants to use his sniping skills to help bring peace to a regional conflict? Even worse, Georgina has no use for a God who seems as distant and capricious as her earthly father.

Readers will relate to Georgina and Cassidy’s messed-up lives and their attempts to solve their problems independently. As they grow closer together, Georgina realizes she’s met a man who means to stay. And just maybe, he follows a God who also means to stay.

Schober creates relatable characters with real-life flaws who work through abandonment, faith, and family issues. Her use of humor adds just the right touch. I couldn’t put this book down. If you haven’t read Schober’s book After She Falls, I highly recommend that one, too.

You'll love this new inspirational novel from @carmen_writes_ and @Bethany_House! #amreading #inspy #netgalley Click To Tweet
Looking for gifts for fiction lovers? Two of the best inspiring fiction books come out this December. Don't miss them! #timeshift #inspy #bestbooksof22 #inspirationalfiction #amreading #lovestory #mustread

3 Comments

  1. Your blog on the ‘Best Inspiring Fiction Books of 2022’ is an absolute treasure trove for book enthusiasts! Your insightful reviews and carefully curated list showcase a deep appreciation for the power of storytelling. Your passion for literature shines through, making it a must-read for anyone seeking inspiration through the pages of a book. Keep up the fantastic work, and thank you for bringing these literary gems to our attention!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Anita Ojeda

Anita Ojeda juggles writing with teaching high school English and history. When she's not lurking in odd places looking for rare birds, you can find her camping with her kids, adventuring with her husband or mountain biking with her students.

You may also like

%d bloggers like this: